New Year, New Life

I love New Year’s. Usually by the end of the year, I’m so ready for it to be done and for a new one to begin. This year was no exception. A lot of hard stuff happened in my community, namely, the Northern California fires. I’m ready to put a bow on this year and pack it way in the back of the hall closet, where it will be lost forever. I’m ready to start fresh, to wipe the slate clean, for all things to be new.

But you know what? We have this opportunity every day, even every moment. This is what I love about being a Jesus follower: I get to start over fresh when I mess up. God is not keeping a running tab of the ways we’ve failed, he’s waiting for us to come to him and start fresh. He forgives us everything. This is what Jesus’ sacrifice did for us. We get a New Year every time we need it.

Doesn’t that take the pressure off?

So, if there’s something weighing on your shoulders, something you hope God doesn’t see, first off, know that God does see it. But second, know that God loves you and wants the best for you.

Third, know that God loves you even if you think you can’t walk away from that sin.

Fourth, know that God is waiting with open arms for whenever you’re ready to let go of that sin.

And fifth, know that once you let that sin go, God wants you to move forward with him, not backward with guilt and shame.

When it’s done, it’s done.

It’s a New Year. It’s a New Life. ❤️

Leave a comment